Sell Out

Sell Out

I’m working 8 days a week

64 hours so far

and I can’t see my friends

or drive a car

It doesn’t really bug me

That’s just my life so far

I’ve achieved so much

But I’m still trapped within this bar…

 

And I’m scared of what you’ll think

Am I a sell out now?

It’s the path untravelled for me

That you may have wondered down

I wonder if I can, go further than this now..

But to do that I must challenge,

Your unrivalled frown…

 

I wished for this moment

Since I knew my name

I want to share my music

I’m not after fame

If I’m to you a let down

A worthless piece of trash

I guess I’ll just ignore your words

Even if they start to hurt

I’ll never be a sell-out or a dropout.

 

So because our paths are different

You judge others that you see?

Do you understand importance

of opportunities?

 

Yes it’s different from the folkscene

And I might change a bit

But you never knew me

My friends understand this…

 

But I’m still worried of your thoughts

How many share the same as you?

I guess it’s hard to know for sure

Unless they tell it to me too

But I’ve never been popular

So I feel quite prepared for this

 

What will be it will be

That’s quite enough for me

I’ve got a chance, you’ll see

I’ll just carry on quite happily…

 

Bridge

If I don’t cut it

I’ll make it some day

But if I don’t try

Then I’m just throwing this away.

 

And I’m scared of what you’ll think

Am I a sell out now?

It’s the path untravelled for me

That you may have wondered down

I wonder if I can, go further than this now..

But to do that I must challenge,

Your unrivalled frown…

 

© Shana King, 2016

Leave a Reply

