Sidelines

Sidelines

Woke up this morning

With pen in my hand

And I picked up the phone

You’ll understand what this means

(What this means)

How on earth does this world work it out?

People believe that the world it was round?

That clever old man he was like me and you

But somehow the whole world his ideas they knew…

(They knew)

 

Chorus

How do I work it out?

How do I get it out there?

How do I sing the songs that I’m meaning to write

Every stage turns and wanders away..

One day they might stay.

 

How did I get past

the vast unbelievers

They’re waiting in line

With their gunshots and cleavers

I’m hoping one days I can see from the side-lines

From where I’m standing

There’s only bad lights…

 

Chorus

How do I work it out?

How do I get it out there?

How do I sing the songs that I’m meaning to write

Every stage turns and wanders away..

One day they might stay.

 

Bridge

It looks hard from where I’m standing

I’ve got a million miles to go

And though I know they’re understanding

They’ve got no lifeline to throw…

 

This path is gruesome, dark and lonely

Like a maze without an end

But I one day I’ll find the answer

Please pray for me my friends…

 

Chorus

How do I work it out?

How do I get it out there?

How do I sing the songs that I’m meaning to write

Every stage turns and wanders away..

One day they might stay.

 

(One day they might stay,

One day they might stay.

Why day they might say:

Why don’t you stay…

Why don’t you stay…)

 

© Shana King, 2016

Leave a Reply

