Ringleader

Ringleader

It’s a clear cut case like 1, 2, 3,

You caught me by the window

Watching over the sea

You wrapped your arms around me

Said you’d hold me forever

And I believed. I believed.

 

Now I’m chasing down the pavements

Watching you and her

Knowing all the tricks that you’ve got stored

You’ll brush away her fears then you’ll reinvent them

That’s just how, you get them.

 

 

1,2,3 and however many more

4,5,6 how many you gonna score?

7,8,9 now I’m running out of fingers

You’re not just a devil, you’re the ringleader.

 

Chorus

Hey you

I’ve got a question

Hey you

How ‘bout a statement?

How bout you tell her that you never left me

When you started see her, and the other one, you see

 

Hey you

You gotta tell her

Hey you

Well, I don’t envy

You or her or your lovely lovely mum

She gave you the world –

And you just turned into a bum.

So hey you.

 

 

So you like the girls?

I got that when we started dating

There was no doubting,

There was no hesitating.

 

What  you trying to prove

That you are manly like your father?

Well as far as I’ve been told your hairs receding even faster.

 

 

A,B,C – I learnt that much in school

D, E, F –  now the joke is all on you

G, H, I – I hope you tell her before I do

 

Secrets travel fast, but not as quick as I can write them…

 

Chorus

Hey you

I’ve got a question

Hey you

How ‘bout a statement?

How bout you tell her that you never left me

When you started see her, and the other one, you see

 

Hey you

You gotta tell her

Hey you

Well, I don’t envy

You or her or your lovely lovely mum

She gave you the world –

And you just turned into a bum.

So hey you.

 

Bridge

And I know you might be worried

Why in heaven should you be?

You know me well enough

There’s not a psycho bitch to see.

I’m not sitting here just crying, I am no longer hurt,

I’m just busy laughing at the thought of you and her…

 

 

Chorus

Hey you

I’ve got a question

Hey you

How ‘bout a statement?

How bout you tell her that you never left me

When you started see her, and the other one, you see

 

Hey you

You gotta tell her

Hey you

Well, I don’t envy

You or her or your lovely lovely mum

She gave you the world –

And you just turned into a bum.

So hey you.

Leave a Reply

