Chat

Not Me

I dream through the day

And I dream through the night

Still my futures not in sight

Nurse and doctor? Sometimes teacher

After all don’t come no nearer.


Always wanted to grow up

Now I wish that I could just stop

Bored of responsibility

Rent and bills understand me

 

Chorus

If I just cannot be me

Tell me who I’m ‘sposed to be

Rid me of originality

Stick me in an office from 9-5

I’ll try my best but I’m gonna cry

Maybe you’ll be proud of me?

Except that’s not me.

 

 

Imagine me on my very first day

What would I wear

What would I say

Maybe I would be a lawyer

My own house with a view to flaunt yeah

 

In a couple seconds its boring me

I’m stuck in a meeting with this shouty lady

There’s a fly buzzing round the fruit bowl

Only life in a room of dull dolls.

 

 

Bridge

I’ve had dreams of something bigger

Ever since I was a little

Girl in the rain.

 

I’ll be trapped within the system

Born to work, be no-one different

That’s my own version of hell….

 

That’s not me

That not me

 

Chorus

If I just cannot be me

Tell me who I’m ‘sposed to be

Rid me of originality

Stick me in an office from 9-5

I’ll try my best but I’m gonna cry

Maybe you’ll be proud of me?

Except that’s not me.

Leave a Reply

