Chat

Last Colours

Do you remember what you said

the day before you turned up dead

You said you would wait until fall

Before you’d end it all

I guess I never understood

I just really wished I could

There could have been a different end

But why should pretend

To love it all

Chorus

You said the last thing

You wanted see

was the smile on your face

Mirrored by me.

At the colours of autumn

The burgundy blur

Red auburn crunches

Your childlike awe

The colours were there

waiting for you

but you were long gone

you’d left too soon.

Memories of times gone by

The days we looked up at the sky

There was beauty in that blue

I guess it wasn’t enough for you

I thought that that would bring you through

The greens of the grass, the clearness of dew

but you You needed more

That’s why closed the door

On it all

Chorus

You said the last thing

You wanted see

was the smile on your face

Mirrored by me.

At the colours of autumn

The burgundy blur

Red auburn crunches

Your childlike awe

The colours were there

waiting for you

but you were long gone

you’d left too soon.

Bridge

So now I’m sitting

Wondering what should I do next-

suddenly my maps unsettled

The seasons spinning

Yellow to red to blue
Memories lead back to you

But, if the colours saw you now

You’re buried under brown

I don’t know what to do

Since the day you turned blue

You said that loved red

But instead you turned to death

If the colours saw you now

Would they be slightly proud?

I guess this songs about them too

As much as it’s for you

You loved them lots you said

They’re lonely in your death

The purple’s slightly older

The yellow’s lost its boldness

The red’s no longer happy

and the blue’s just slightly colder.

Chorus

You said the last thing

You wanted see

was the smile on your face

Mirrored by me.

At the colours of autumn

The burgundy blur

Red auburn crunches

Your childlike awe

The colours were there

waiting for you

but you were long gone

you’d left too soon.

Leave a Reply

